Being diagnosed with celiac disease is a life-changing experience, but the transition into gluten-free living can be made easier by knowing where gluten tends to hide. Here are some common, and some not-so-common, sources of gluten in the diet.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. Some of the obvious places it’s found include breads, cereals and crackers.
Gluten can also be found in less evident foods, including meats that use fillers, such as hot dogs, frozen burgers and ground beef for tacos. Marinades may also contain gluten.
Check ingredients of seasoned or dry roasted nuts and sunflower seeds as well as potato chips. Many seasonings contain wheat flour or starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein.
Sauces may contain wheat to thicken, while salad dressings could have malt vinegar (barley) or seasonings with wheat. Be cautious of Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and some mustards.
Hard candies, chocolates and licorice have all been found guilty of hiding wheat flour or barley malt vinegar. Check ingredients and if unknown: don’t give in to temptation!
Cheese spreads and sauces may be thickened with wheat flour, while flavored shredded cheese may also contain wheat.
Beer, ale and lager made from barley are on the no-no list. Question any drink (i.e. tea, coffee, alcohol) that is flavored.
© Copyright 2016 AGW Publishing Inc.
All Rights Reserved