Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:16 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Introduction
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:50 pm 

Hi, everyone!

I've just joined the site, after hearing about it from Karen E. Kudos on an amazing forum!

In addition to my life in academia, and as a freelance writer, I run the Montreal Anaphylaxis Support Group, which is affiliated with Anaphylaxis Canada. My own allergies include peanuts, tree nuts, and sesame. I suffered numerous anaphylactic reactions during my youth in the 70s and 80s, before the advent of the EpiPen®. Many were misdiagnosed as sudden, severe asthma attacks, but the charts often noted that I was covered in hives as well. Those of us who were the 'advance guard' -- the minority of adults who grew up with anaphylaxis -- probably remember these types of scenarios well.

I'm saddened by the increased prevalence in food allergies, but on the positive side of things, there are now groups and forums such as this one to provide support, and many food manufacturers seem to have been slowly moving toward allergen-awareness over the past 10 years or so.

And I'm still holding out hope for a real cure within the next 10 years. Let's hope together.

Best,

Andrea

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:49 pm 

Hi Andrea! Glad you are hear. Not glad you have life threatening allergies though. :)

self: allergic to milk, eggs, soy and other legumes, corn, oats, wheat, turkey, tree nuts, yeast, fish

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:06 am 
Site Admin

Hi Andrea,

Welcome and thanks for the nice words about the forum. I guess an upside (if there really is one) to the increased prevalence is that allergies are getting more attention in society, more research is being financed as the need is perceived as greater.

Enjoy the discussions. Cheers, Gwen

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:51 am 

Hi Andrea,

Nice to *see* you again. :)