You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:44 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Welcome!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 1:16 pm 

Hi folks. I'm just checking in to say hello, and that I look forward to hearing all your stories, and listening to your feedback about this magazine and this website!

Post subject: Intro!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:00 pm 

Hi! I'm Monica, and I'm allergic to cats, dogs, horses, dust, peaches, apricots, nectarines, penicillin, and pollen. I'm a college student in Virginia and I love that this board is so new I get to use my first name at my user ID!

Post subject: nice. :)
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:35 pm 

I'm ygg, I live in Virginia and have adult onset food allergies, lifelong environmental allergies, and I also have MCS.

My food allergies vary from anaphylactic (soy, wheat, papaya, penicillium cheesemaking strains) to not-so-severe, but must be avoided (peanut, gluten, seasonal oral allergy syndrome). I'm also allergic to natural rubber latex and must avoid some cross-reaction risks (avocado, banana) to varying extremes. I have a lot of herb allergies that I don't count as severe since they're so easy to avoid, but they range from anaphylactic (lavender,echinacea, chamomile, rose hips) to mildly annoying (hibiscus). I'm contact reactive for all my allergens, food and environmental.

When you get more folks, a quick glossary might be useful. Food allergy sites tend to acquire quite a few acronyms: PA, TNA, FA, EA, NRLA, GF, GFCF, OAS, etc. If a number of parents join, you end up with DH, DW, DD, DS, etc. ;)

ygg

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:58 pm 

Hi. I'm AnnaMarie and I'm from Toronto.

I have adult onset allergies to sesame seeds (anaphylactic) and peanuts (severe reactions - may now be anaphylactic).