You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:12 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:58 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Hey,

I have noticed some crackers (saltines, etc.) that have sour dough culture listed as an ingredient. When I look this up it says that lactic acid may be involved. I have heard that lactic acid may come from a milk source.

My daughter is severely allergic to milk and I was wondering if anyone knows if these ingredients are safe?

Thanks!

_________________
Michelle
Daughter (5 yrs) - ana to milk, nuts, peanut, egg, sesame; intolerant of beef; seasonal allergies; asthma
Husband - IBS - several food intolerances
Me - Asthma, some seasonal allergies


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 154
If it's lactate or lactic acid, it's not from dairy (exception - sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). "Lac" ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always from dairy. Most ingredients made with with calcium are vegan (i.e. calcium carbonate, calcium phosphate, calcium sulfate). The exceptions are calcium caseinate and calcium stearate.

That is from a vegan source I have.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group