You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:44 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:17 pm
Posts: 6456
Location: Ottawa
I'm sure this was discussed in the past but I am not finding it with the search tool.

Quote:
Kosher certification is a very complex system of labeling, originally created for spiritual purposes. However, over the years many individuals have also found it to be a handy way of identifying foods for special diets. Before we go on, I believe it is important to address an ongoing debate regarding the safety of Kosher and Kosher "Pareve" products for those with milk allergies. Based on policies of the Orthodox Union, the world's super power of Kosher certification, those individuals with a severe milk allergy should not rely completely on Kosher certification when selecting foods. A detailed explanation for our conclusion is stated on the Orthodox Union's website as follows:

"The trace nuts and dairy disclaimer that is now printed on many products is there to warn consumers that although there are no nuts or dairy in the ingredients of the product itself, there is a possibility of parts per millions floating in the air and ‘contaminating’ the product.

The ‘contamination’ would only affect consumers with extremely severe allergies who can detect even the most trace amounts of the substance that they are reacting to. A product that is labeled OU (and thereby certified kosher parve) is halachically (by Jewish Law) parve. The parts per million does not affect the status of a product, because parts per million are negligible and have no halachic significance.

As an example, a factory might produce dairy and parve products on two separate production lines. Nonetheless, air-born particles of milk or whey powder might float onto the parve production line. Though a person might suffer an allergic reaction, the product is still halachically parve.

Companies have been especially cautious in the past few years to publicize this information as the public’s knowledge of allergens has grown."


http://www.godairyfree.org/Food-to-Eat/ ... osher.html

_________________
Moderator
Daughter: asthma, allergies to egg, milk, peanuts, tree nuts, most legumes (not soy) & penicillin. Developing hayfever type allergies.
Husband: no allergies
Me: allergies to some tree that flowers in May
Cat: allergic to beef, pork and lamb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:39 pm
Posts: 2943
Location: Toronto
A great reminder / explanation. Thanks Susan.
Lots of confusion about this.

_________________
Allergic to soy, peanut, shellfish, penicillin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group