Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:33 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: What next?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:40 pm 

Hi there,

I am a newbie on this Forum as my dd has a peanut allergy. She has her allergy testing the end of March!

What do I do until then. I have so many questions..... Do we go totally peanut/ nut free in our home . What other precautions do we take? We did get the Twinjet Epi-pen after visiting our family doctor this week.

Any help or suggestions are welcomed. I am still getting use to the fact that dd has this life threating allergy! Are there any support groups for parents of kids like mine.

Thanks
LT :( :(

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:09 pm 

newpeanutkid
How old?
What were her symptoms? How did you find out about the peanut allergy?

Just a few questions to get started.
Welcome,
Daisy :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:31 pm 

It sounds like the allergy was just discovered, so you will be overwhelmed trying to figure everything out. When we discovered our daughter's allergies (milk, eggs, peanuts), we tried to cook milk free for her and add milk to our own meals. It became too difficult and mistakes were made and mild reactions happened. So I would suggest making your home nut free (as best you can) so that your child (and you) will not need to worry as much about accidental exposures. You will need to eliminate any foods bought at bulk food stores (spices, dried fruits etc.) because there is too much risk of cross contamination. When you are cleaning out your cupboards and you are not sure if an open container of food (flour, sugar, jam) might have been exposed to nuts - throw it out. When in doubt throw it out.