Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:12 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Fear of Food
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:49 pm 
Site Admin

Once you folks get your magazines, I'm really curious to hear whether any of you or your children have experienced the "Fear of Food" syndrome that Jennifer Van Evra writes about in our new issue.

I find it an intriguing subject. And yes, I've had some experience of this myself.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:33 pm 

Got the magazine--read the article. Yes. Been there. done that.

For a period of time after a severe anaphylactic reaction in highschool, I had trouble sleeping, and I lost about 10 pounds. I forced myself to eat every meal, but I really didn't feel like eating much. Involuntary gagging was a part of my reaction, and for awhile, eating made me feel like gagging slightly.

It didn't help anxiety levels any that a few days after the reaction I went to visit relatives where there were nuts, peanut brittle, chex mix, etc. on the coffee table beside the couch that I slept on.

Also, while the peanut butter in my home went into the trash bin following the reaction, I got anxious about eggy things in the fridge----I wouldn't eat anything from a jar that was next to the mayo for instance.

I did have one major anxiety attack a few days after the reaction---I was in a car for a prolonged period of time and got worried about the reaction coming back. It was so bizarre---either my arm or my entire side of my body (can't remember which) was paralyzed (just from anxiety).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:01 am 
Site Admin

Did you develop strategies to work your way through such anxiety, or did the passage of time simply do the healing?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:09 pm 

I really liked the article. I wish I had read it when I was going through it. :lol: