You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:19 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2005 2:20 pm 

Hi there;
My name is Karen, I have never used this type of medium before so please bare with me umtil I get the hang of it. I was so happy to see there was a forum such as this. WOW. I have a 5 year old son who has a severe dairy allergy. I whis this forum was available years ago. Especially when he was staring school.
I have just ordered a pouch and protective holders for my son's EPI's. I do have to say I am a bit reluctant about him having them attached to him. However I do understand the importance. Up until this point he has had a larger case (pencil case) that goes every where with him. At recess he brings it outside and the yard duty teacher holds on to it. I have decided to get the belt in hopes to start instilling the responsibility in him to alway have it on like his medic-alert. Any advice or pros an cons from those who use this device :?: :

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:37 pm 

Hi Karen,

There are a few different kinds of carriers that are available for epi-pens. Have you already ordered one?

My son started wearing the e-belt by zoni inc. It is available through Canadian Medic Alert and has their symbol on the front of it. He has been wearing it since he was in jk - he's now in grade 1. I was very leery of doing this - he was so young. But, his school wants the children to carry their epi-pens *on their person* because they change classes, and have different teachers throughout the day, and at recess the teacher carrying the epi-pen could be at the other end of the yard when it's needed. So, I (grudgingly) agreed. Now - I wouldn't let my son attend a school that wouldn't allow him to carry it himself. :lol: