You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:32 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:56 pm 

We had first aid training at school yesterday (I am a teacher). The organization running it was called Link to Life, and the trainer was very good. She was also anaphylactic to bee stings and took the allergy section of the class very seriously. A few interesting things happened:

1) We had to do a lot of buddy stuff where one of us played the victim and one of us played the resucer. After the first such thing, I off-handedly remarked to the trainer that my 'rescuer' missed my medic-alert bracelet. She then commented on this to the group, who all looked sheepish. I played the 'victim' at least six more times over the course of the day (including once as a demo victim for the trainer herself) and not once did anybody notice or look at the bracelet :)

2) When she found out the bracelet mentioned that I carry an epi-pen, everyone immediately asked me where it was and why I carried it. When my answer was 'it's in my bag, in the classroom' everyone went 'ooooh!' But I remarked to the trainer that I had not eaten, there as no food in the room and I was not allergic to anything airborne. She said I should still have it handy, but it's not a big deal in a case like this given my history to have it in front of me at every moment. But she did say that this comes up in every single training she does---there will turn out to be someone with an epi-pen, and they will sheepishly admit that it isn't with them right now :)