You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:15 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 300
Location: Montreal
Ok so I am calling on everyone's quick research skills for this one. Yesterday I ate these cookies (President's Choice, Organics Chocolate Creme Cookies), the ones I have eaten on many occasions in the past. However, for the first time, I noticed that on the front of the package there is a Kosher sign with the word dairy underneath it. At first I was like, cool they are being explicit about it not containing dairy. But then I got curious (AFTER I ate them). When I did some research it said that this actually means there IS dairy in it. I kind of wanted to warn people who are also avoiding dairy that this is a potential danger. But I'm sort of excited (being selfish here) because this might mean I'm not actually allergic like I thought I might be. Does anyone have any information on these cookies or this certification signage?? I would love to call PC but obviously they're closed on the weekends and it's KILLING me to have to wait till monday!

_________________
Associate Editor at Allergic Living.
Allergies to all nuts and legumes except soy and green beans.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:36 am
Posts: 154
When something says Kosher Dairy it means it contains Dairy. Presidents Choice is GREAT on the phone. Every time I call, they tell me if it's on the same lines, in the same facility, and if it contains it - they always are so quick and efficient!

So I'm not sure about your allergy (but hopefully it's what you hope it is), but Kosher Dairy means it contains Dairy - maybe in this case, it's in the natural flavours.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 300
Location: Montreal
Hmmm...ok well this is good for me! But I'm very worried for others because it's not actually listed in the ingredients and it really should be. I will tell them when I call. Thanks!!

_________________
Associate Editor at Allergic Living.
Allergies to all nuts and legumes except soy and green beans.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group