You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: Introducing myself
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:29 pm 

I just wanted to introduce myself here on the sesame board. My son had a severe allergic reaction to a small taste of tahini when he was about 9 months old (vomiting, hives, and facial swelling within several minutes). Subsequent allergy testing shows that he's probably allergic to a variety of other foods (eggs, dairy, sunflower, peanuts and soy).

I've learned a lot in the last couple of months. I've struggled with pediatricians, allergists and confusing literature. I'm still learning. I'm glad to have found this forum--I've already learned so much here already!

I'm wondering about other people's sesame allergies. How many of you also have sunflower (or other seed) allergies? (My son has vomited from eating products with cold pressed sunflower oil before.) Does a single ingested sesame seed affect most people? What about sesame oils? Is expeller pressed usually okay, or just highly refined? (We did a skin prick test with highly refined sesame oil at the allergists and that was fine.)

Thanks so much! I'm so happy to have found you all.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:08 am 

Welcome to the board. :) I'll answer what I can. However, I don't really know about *most people* -- just myself.

I react only to peanuts and sesame seeds. For me, sesame seeds is the worse allergy, it's harder to avoid, and my reactions to it are much worse.