You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:34 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:06 pm 

I'm new to sesame allergy. I got my results from other allergy testing (ImmunoCap) around the first of the year and didn't know sesame was one of the panels my doctor included. I expected the shellfish to come back positive. When I found out I was a Class 2 for sesame, I was shocked. So I ate some raw sesame and some toasted sesame and nothing happened. Lately, though, I think I've been reacting--and reacting to all kinds of things where I wouldn't necessarily expect sesame (could be there) or shellfish cross contamination.

It would be helpful to know where you've found unexpected sesame. Yesterday I had a reaction after eating a veggie sandwich (catered at work). There was no visible sesame in or on the bun (I don't think I'm sensitive to cross contamination yet). It had pesto, red bell peppers, carrots, and bean sprouts on it. Could it have been pesto? I've never heard of sesame in pesto, but I've been getting reactions after the craziest things.

So--where have you found sesame other than bread?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 12:26 am 

I don't know what caused your reaction but I do know sesame is super potent, like peanut. Something like 1/3000 of a peanut can cause a life-threatening reaction--this is about 1/3000 or so less amount than it takes for most other allergens to cause a reaction. So we are talking super minute amounts causing life threatning reactions. Sesame is similarly super potent. Nuts are not quite as potent but still quite potent taking about 900 times less than most other allergens to cause a reaction. (Source on peanut and nuts is the Peanut Allergy Answer Book and source on sesame is from some internet links on sesame allergy.)