You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:07 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:18 pm 

I am new to all of this..

I was talking to a mom the other day (who has no allergic children mind you) and was telling her about how I am just trying to figure out how we are going to change our lifestyle to make sure Sam is safe (e.g., do we avoid all restaurants, can we still take him to the park safely, baseball games, etc, etc). And her comment to me was 'well you can't keep him in a bubble, you need to make his life as normal as possible, otherwise he will be miserable" Then she proceeded to say "look at people with bee sting allergies, it is not like they never go outside, they just take precautions so if they come in contact they are prepared"

is this how you see your approach to allergies? That you probably can't eliminate exposure you just do your best to predict situations to try to keep him safe and then have a response if something goes wrong? I just hear so many people talk about not even going out to eat or the park that I wonder- am I going to make my kids crazy if I try to control his environment too much? He is still little right now but I am concerned about how I approach him and his world. I just don't want him to grow up scared of his own shadow?

Any advice?

Me allergy to morphine only

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:03 pm 

We've been dealing with DD's allergies for about a year now and have gone through various stages. When we first found out about all her allergies DH and I were terrified to feed her or to introduce new foods to her since we had witnessed two severe reactions. We were afraid to take her to other people's houses or grocery shopping.