You are viewing Allergic Living Canada | Switch to United States

Talking Allergies

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:45 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Post subject: New to food allergies
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 1:48 am 

Hello all, I don't know if this is the right place to post, but I guess if it's not, it'll be moved. :D

I'm new to the whole world of food allergies. I guess I'm allergic to eggs (the whole bloody thing).

This of course is my first holiday season not being able to eat eggs and it's killing me. Thanksgiving will never be the same without pumpkin pie again. :( Does anyone else out there dread going to the grocery store this time of year? I do because I'm reminded of all the things I really, really want, but can't eat. What do people do? I'm not a big cooker and I live alone (which makes wanting to cook even harder). I did buy egg replacer, which has worked in the cornbread I made. I'm getting really depressed and just don't eat because I can't have what I really want. Does it get better? Do people adjust and their bodies don't crave things that they've been eating forever? (I'm twenty eight, apparently I have to spell that out because it turns into a smiley if I don't). If I eat something as a "substitute," something I'm not craving, I find that I end up eating more because I'm not satisfied.

I got myself a medical ID bracelet because of the allergy and my asthma, now people actually take me seriously when I go out to eat, before I don't think they did.

Any advice at all would really be appreciated because food just isn't fun anymore. It's even worse when I can't have desert and there is fruit available (this happens when I'm' eating with my mom) she'll tell me that fruit qualifies as a desert! It would have been had I not had to fill my plate with it as an appetizer and with the main course because it was all that I could eat.