Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. Some of the obvious places it’s found include breads, cereals and crackers.
But gluten can be found in less evident foods, including meats that use fillers, such as hot dogs, frozen burgers and ground beef for tacos. Marinades may also contain gluten.
Check ingredients of seasoned or dry roasted nuts and sunflower seeds as well as potato chips. Many seasonings contain wheat flour or starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein.
Sauces may contain wheat to thicken, while salad dressings could have malt vinegar (barley) or seasonings with wheat. Be cautious of Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and some mustards.
Hard candies, chocolates and licorice have all been found guilty of hiding wheat flour or barley malt vinegar. Check ingredients and if unknown: don’t give in to temptation!
Cheese spreads and sauces may be thickened with wheat flour, while flavoured shredded cheese may also contain wheat.
Beer, ale and lager made from barley are on the no-no list. Question any drink (i.e. tea, coffee, alcohol) that is flavoured.
After nearly a decade of waiting, people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can rejoice that the Food and Drug Administration has finally set a standard for gluten-free labeling.
The disease doesn’t end at the gut: oral symptoms, from rotting teeth to mouth cancer, are also related to celiac. Find out what to watch for and how to avoid celiac disease’s effects on the mouth.
Is your love life lacking and passion fading into the past? This could be a symptom of celiac disease.
A leading scientist sets out to prove that gluten and a leaky gut may be causing 20 percent of autism disorders.
Eliminating gluten is a tough regime to follow. But will the diet shed pounds as well as pain? Don’t bet on it.
Shelley Case provides the ultimate nutritional comparison chart of gluten-free cereals and granolas.
Here’s a guide to help you sort out what you need to do, from breakfast through to baking and barbecues with friends. No matter how daunting it may seem at the start, following a GF diet can be easy as (gluten-free) pie.
Doctors say you have to ingest gluten from cosmetics to get symptoms. The question is: does this happen more often than we know?