In Latin, gluten means “glue” and that’s exactly what it is: two proteins, gliadin and glutenin, stuck together. Gluten is found in wheat, barley and rye, which means it is in a myriad of products, from the usual suspects like bread and bagels to those that are not nearly so obvious. Think meat substitutes, for… Read more »
It may sound daunting, but once you’re diagnosed with celiac disease, it’s usually good news. Most people with celiac disease have been suffering maddening, unexplained and often painful symptoms for years. These usually disappear miraculously once you’re on the gluten-free diet. A celiac diagnosis does come with dietary restrictions that have a sizeable learning curve.… Read more »
Celiac disease is one of a group of conditions classified as autoimmune disorders because the body’s immune system turns on itself. But instead of having a certain set of symptoms, it can manifest itself in a dizzying number of ways. The problems start because the villi, tiny, finger-like projections in the small intestine that act… Read more »
Here’s a guide to help you sort out what you need to do, from breakfast through to baking and barbecues with friends. No matter how daunting it may seem at the start, following a GF diet can be easy as (gluten-free) pie. Where does gluten hide? Gluten can be sneaky. Food ingredients such as modified… Read more »
Celiac disease, from the Latin word for “abdominal cavity,” occurs when the body rejects a protein called gluten, which is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye.
Reading labels is a way of life when you have celiac disease. Before eating anything in a package, be sure to read the label carefully. Look for hidden sources of gluten and for other names, such as food starch, seasoning and hydrolyzed vegetable protein. Also be on the lookout for precautionary statements. These are statements… Read more »
Q. I’ve been diagnosed with dermatitis herpetiformis. How is it related to celiac disease?
Q: I’ve heard that quinoa is a good gluten alternative. But what is it, and what kind of dishes would I use it in?
Q: I have been hearing more about celiac disease, and wonder if I may have it. What exactly is celiac, and how is it diagnosed?